It's Time To Lean In

“Be diligent to know the state of your flocks, and attend to your herds; for riches are not forever, nor does a crown endure to all generations. When the hay is removed, and the tender grass shows itself, and the herbs of the mountains are gathered in, the lambs will provide your clothing, and the goats the price of a field; you shall have enough goats' milk for your food, for the food of your household, and the nourishment of your maidservants.”

Proverbs 27:23-27 NKJV

Good Morning!

God is moving in your life! He is breathing, invigorating, and increasing areas that you have been divinely charged to oversee. Wherever you see God moving, you want to lean into that area. When you make that decision to lean in, you make a decision to change priorities and may also need to completely stop doing other good activities. It’s part of implementing the wisdom of Proverbs 27:23-27.

The decision to lean in is a prayerful decision. (If you missed my last few emails on the subject, read them here.) The decision to lean in for me has been a multiple month long process. As I was making these prayerful decisions, a few friends of mine gave me a reading list. I am an avid reader. Whether it is physical books or Audible, I go through at least one book a month. To briefly paraphrase one of these books, the authors recommended to do the things that bring the biggest results and stop doing the mundane things that are robbing you of your time.

Yes, I know, some mundane things are necessary. However, hear me out, not everything we do is necessary. Some things we do for the sake of tradition, comfort, or how we were trained. As you end this year, examine your life. What is the 80% that is stealing your time and not producing? What is the 20% that is producing phenomenal results that you wish you had more time to do?

As you prayerfully examine your life, you’ll realize that you will have to make a few decisions. There are good things you are doing that are not producing. Are you still supposed to be doing those things? Is that what God is leading you to do or are you just doing them to do them?

God has more for you. He is definitely moving in your life. There are areas that you need to double-down in, invest in, and increase. You need to lean in to where God is moving. Don’t make these decisions without taking time to pray them through. As I shared yesterday, take the data you gather to Him. Ask Him the following questions and pray the following prayers:

  • Father, what should I do about this?

  • Should I invest more time or resources in this area?

  • Father, please grant me more wisdom and insight concerning this data.

  • What am I not seeing? Help me to see well so that I can steward well.

Leaning into where God is moving produces tremendous results. In an upcoming email, I’ll share what to do when Satan attacks while you lean in. There is an attack coming, but guess what? God has already given you the victory!

Pray the Ephesians 1 prayer today. Remember, it is a prayer that increase your spiritual perception. Stream the Faith in the Morning podcast devotional. If you’re going to lean into where God is moving, you’re going to have to learn to let your past go. In today’s podcast, I share on letting your past go and moving into the future God has for you.

Share this email with others so that they will be encouraged to lean into where God is moving in their life.

What Bible Passages I’m Reading This Week: The Book of Ephesians, Revelation Chapters 1-5

Faith in the Morning Daily Affirmation & Confession: I am the salt of the earth. I am the light of this world. Jesus said it so I believe it. I am a carrier of the Glory of God. Today, I will experience the extreme goodness of God. Today, I make myself available for God to show His goodness to others through me.  Today, I am increasing in influence. Today, I will see the goodness of God in my life! Today, something good is going to happen to me so I expect miracles. 

Did Someone Forward This Email To You? Subscribe to the Faith in the Morning newsletter to receive daily encouragement in your inbox!

Have an amazing day!