What Do You See?

“Moreover the word of the LORD came to me, saying, "Jeremiah, what do you see?" And I said, "I see a branch of an almond tree." Then the LORD said to me, "You have seen well, for I am ready to perform My word."

Jeremiah 1:11-12 NKJV

Good Morning!

For a few years now, it has been profoundly interesting to me that God asked Jeremiah what he saw. This verse and a few others led me to start praying, “Lord, help me to see well, so that I can do well, and stand before you to hear, ‘Well Done.‘“ When God asked Jeremiah what he saw, God told him that he had seen well.

If God asked you the same question today, what would your response be? Would He say that you have seen well? To see well, you have to be looking in the right place.

As I shared yesterday, by following the principle of Proverbs 27:23, I had gathered important data concerning areas that are part of my responsibilities.


Be diligent to know the state of your flocks,
and attend to your herds;

Proverbs 27:23 NKJV

I had data to examine because I was diligent over what God had given me to steward and oversee. As I examined the data, I saw growth and impact in areas that I previously hadn’t considered as particularly effective and influential. I wouldn’t have seen well if I didn’t examine the data I had due to following the principles found in Proverbs 27. When I saw what God was breathing on and increasing, I took that matter to prayer and began to see where I should double-down, invest, and increase. I leaned into where God was moving.

When you see where God is moving in your life, take the data to Him. Ask Him the following questions and pray the following prayers:

  • Father, what should I do about this?

  • Should I invest more time or resources in this area?

  • Father, please grant me more wisdom and insight concerning this data.

  • What am I not seeing? Help me to see well so that I can steward well.

Leaning into where God is moving produces tremendous results. Your lean in begins when you know where to look. I’ll continue to share more on this topic tomorrow. But for now, I’ll close today’s email with a reminder for you to pray the Ephesians 1 prayer and stream Faith in the Morning podcast devotional. In today’s podcast, I share from the life of the Apostle Paul reminding you that you are called, not canceled.

What Bible Passages I’m Reading This Week: The Book of Ephesians, Revelation Chapters 1-5

Faith in the Morning Daily Affirmation & Confession: I am the salt of the earth. I am the light of this world. Jesus said it so I believe it. I am a carrier of the Glory of God. Today, I will experience the extreme goodness of God. Today, I make myself available for God to show His goodness to others through me.  Today, I am increasing in influence. Today, I will see the goodness of God in my life! Today, something good is going to happen to me so I expect miracles. 

Did Someone Forward This Email To You? Subscribe to the Faith in the Morning newsletter to receive daily encouragement in your inbox!

Have a wonderful day!