Escaping Negative Cycles

 

 Whenever the Lord raised up a judge over Israel, he was with that judge and rescued the people from their enemies throughout the judge’s lifetime. For the Lord took pity on his people, who were burdened by oppression and suffering. But when the judge died, the people returned to their corrupt ways, behaving worse than those who had lived before them. They went after other gods, serving and worshiping them. And they refused to give up their evil practices and stubborn ways.

‭‭Judges‬ ‭2‬:‭18‬-‭19‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Good Morning,

We are reading the Book of Judges in our Faith+ Reading plan this week and next week. This book contains epic heroics and devastating tragedies. (To stream my study of the Book of Judges, click here.) There is something else in this book we can all relate to - a cycle.

In the wilderness, a generation of people of God wandered in circles until they died. In the Book of Judges, generations of the people of God would cycle through rebellion, oppression, repentance, and prosperity. The Book of Judges wasn’t just a cycle. It was a downward spiral!

God has a wonderful plan for your life! He doesn’t want you going around in non-productive and useless circles all of your life and He definitely doesn’t want you to spiral! Those in the wilderness walked in circles because they refused to believe God. Those in Judges spiraled because they refused to remain faithful. We must pair faith and faithfulness to experience the life God has for us. It’s how we escape the cycle and live the ever increasing life God has for us.

Pray this prayer with me today, “Father, I thank you for loving me. I believe in you, your love, and your plan for my life. Help me to increase in faith, grow in patience, and remain faithful. I don’t want to live in a wilderness cycle or a downward spiral. I want to live the ever increasing life you have for me. Help me to develop in the fruit of the Spirit and go to another level in my life, today. Thank you for first loving me. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

Share Faith With Others 📤👥

Do you know someone who needs to read today’s email? Please forward this to them so that they can be encouraged by God’s wonderful love and goodness for them.

Did someone forward this email to you? Subscribe to the Faith in the Morning newsletter to receive daily encouragement in your inbox!

Don’t forget to read through the Books of Judges, Ruth, and 1st Samuel this month! Today, read Judges 6. I taught a series on the Book of Judges and Ruth. To listen to the series, click here.

Are you looking for my Harrison House & Destiny Image discount? Click here!

Are You Looking For The Faith in the Morning TUVU Community? Click here to sign up!