Delivered From Self-Doubt

How Do You See Yourself?

 

 Whenever the Lord raised up a judge over Israel, he was with that judge and rescued the people from their enemies throughout the judge’s lifetime. For the Lord took pity on his people, who were burdened by oppression and suffering. But when the judge died, the people returned to their corrupt ways, behaving worse than those who had lived before them. They went after other gods, serving and worshiping them. And they refused to give up their evil practices and stubborn ways.

‭‭Judges‬ ‭2‬:‭18‬-‭19‬ ‭NLT‬‬

Good Morning,

We are reading the Book of Judges in our Faith+ Reading plan this week and next week. This book contains epic heroics and devastating tragedies. (To stream my study of the Book of Judges, click here.) When you study the life of the Judges, you can learn what to do and what not to do.

For example, the Book of Hebrews lists the judges as examples of faith in Hebrews 11. Their faith in God caused God’s people to be delivered from their oppressors and negative situations of their own making. What can your faith in God do today?

When God sent His messenger to speak to Gideon, Gideon was full of self-doubt. The angelic messenger declared that he was a mighty man of valor and God had chosen him to deliver His people. Gideon replied, "How can I rescue Israel? My clan is the weakest in the whole tribe of Manasseh, and I am the least in my entire family!"

Gideon didn’t see what God saw. God saw who He made Gideon to be. Do you see what God sees when He looks at you? Today, make a decision to see yourself the way God sees you and live up to the call He has placed upon your life. God believes in you. It’s time to believe God. Don’t let self-doubt and a poor self-image rob you of your faith in God and the wonderful life He has for you.

Pray this prayer with me today, “Father, I thank you for loving me. I believe in you, your love, and your plan for my life. Thank you for believing in me. I ask that you help me see myself the way you see me. Help me to fulfill your plan for my life. I ask for your strength to take another step forward in that plan. I trust you! Thank you for first loving me. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

Share Faith With Others 📤👥

Do you know someone who needs to read today’s email? Please forward this to them so that they can be encouraged by God’s wonderful love and goodness for them.

Did someone forward this email to you? Subscribe to the Faith in the Morning newsletter to receive daily encouragement in your inbox!

Don’t forget to read through the Books of Judges, Ruth, and 1st Samuel this month! Today, read Judges 7. I taught a series on the Book of Judges and Ruth. To listen to the series, click here.

Are you looking for my Harrison House & Destiny Image discount? Click here!

Are You Looking For The Faith in the Morning TUVU Community? Click here to sign up!